Reviews - Cumberland Hotel

Summary
4.4

Very nice.- Rating 5/5

The hotel was in a good area. As a women traveling by herself i fellt very safe in the hotel. The staff was nice and helpfull.

Reviewer: Tilde | Mon 15th Jul 2024 | 13 hours ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Nice staff, quaint and quiet setting.

Reviewer: Benjamin| Fri 12th Jul 2024 | 3 days ago


No semi skimmed milk - Rating 4/5

Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly.Transport to/from airport/city was excellent.Couple of issues -continental breakfast was adequate - fruit yoghurt toast boiled eggs BUT the “continental” cheese/meat was a let down pre-packed processed cheese slice you would put in a BBQ burger and one option for ham.When we asked if there was semi-skimmed milk (they had whole milk soya milk and oat milk!!) the answer we got wasNo but you can buy some down the road and keep it in the fridgein your roomNOT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE!!Incidentally the fridge had to be switched off at night as it was so noisy.Despite these observations we would stay again

Reviewer: Val| Fri 12th Jul 2024 | 3 days ago


Stay in Edinburgh- Rating 4/5

A handy location a short walk from Haymarket and the tram network. Friendly staff and good breakfast selection. Only negative was our ground floor room with rooms above and no sound insulation in the floor which made it noisy when people were walking about.

Reviewer: Alexander C | Thu 11th Jul 2024 | 4 days ago


Convenient location - Rating 4/5

This hotel is in a great location. It's walking distance to the Edinburgh Castle, if you're up for some steps, and it's also on a convenient bus route if you'd prefer to ride. Our room was up a couple flights of stairs so getting the suitcases up was a challenge but once up there, the room was clean, quiet and restful. Beds were very comfortable. Not much water pressure so the shower took a little longer than usual. Nice to have the lounge and the patio areas to relax in after a full day. Breakfast was, ok, with the basics to start the day, nothing fancy. Staff was very friendly and helpful!

Reviewer: Anna B | Mon 8th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Wonderful stay and great location - Rating 5/5

Loved staying here with my adult children.Three twin beds were perfect, it was quiet, comfortable and kind staff made it a wonderful stay!

Reviewer: Rebecca W | Sun 7th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Top - Rating 5/5

Top

Reviewer: Gabriele| Thu 4th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Solid and affordable- Rating 4/5

Nice room and staff. Location is quiet and great if you don’t mind the 10-minute walk to the Tram. Bus stop is just out front.

Reviewer: Daven G | Thu 4th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Great location and good price. - Rating 5/5

We stayed in a family room with 5 beds. It was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. This place is very close to everything you may want to explore in Edinburgh. Buses are available right outside, running 24 hours. The price we paid for 5 beds per night was very reasonable, and the hotel staff members were very helpful.

Reviewer: Sujeet D | Wed 3rd Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Very positive - Rating 4/5

Everything very clean , perfect without moquette , the positionverygood.To improve :The beds are too small and the mattress

Reviewer: Patrizia F | Wed 3rd Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Clean and ideal. - Rating 5/5

Having stayed for 1 night owing to us attending a concert.We found the hotel ideal for our needs.Room was very clean and close enough for walking into central Edinburgh with a stop for a meal and a few drinks.

Reviewer: David W | Sun 30th Jun 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Spacious, clean room and friendly staff- Rating 5/5

My wife and I and three children stayed in a family room at the Cumberland. The room with a double and three singles was the most spacious that we stayed at on our trip. Also the reception staff were friendly and helpful in restaurant recommendations.

Reviewer: Brian B | Fri 14th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Es hat uns gut gefallen- Rating 4/5

Das Hotel liegt sehr ruhig und trotzdem sehr zentral dank der Haltestelle direkt vor der Tür. Wir würden wieder hier hinkommen.

Reviewer: Angelika W | Thu 13th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Great Stay, Great Location - Rating 5/5

Hotel was very clean, great location and friendly staff. Loved the little touch of the Taylor Swift Stickers and sweets!

Reviewer: Rachel B | Tue 11th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Excellent location for Murrayfield Stadium - Rating 4/5

Excellent location for Murrayfield Stadium. Room was clean and a good size. Only complaint was the pillows need a rethink as they were all as flat as pancakes.Breakfast was good with a good selection and a pleasant dining room. It was clear breakfast and parking was additional to the room fee, so it wasn’t an issue.The car park is tight but great to be able to park the car and know it’s safeLots of good restaurants and bars/cafes nearby. Didn’t head into the centre of Edinburgh as was there for a concert but there’s a bus stop right outside that would take you into town.Overall whilst the room wasn’t cheap it’s Edinburgh for The Eras Tour so everywhere is ridiculously expensive.

Reviewer: Laura-Ann L | Mon 10th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Really close to Murray Field like a 9 mim walk, handy for princess street 15 min walk. Hotel staff were fantasticthey left little gift in our room related to Tylor Swift which was a fabulous touch we really appreciate it. Parking was right outside also! All round a fantastic weekend thank you for having us!

Reviewer: JULIE| Sun 9th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


What a gem - Rating 5/5

Came into Edinburgh for Taylor Swift show N1 with my 16 year old swiftie, and a 2 night stay at the Cumberland. Delighted with our room, deluxe twin, super clean and all the staff so friendly. Perfect location for getting to and from murrayfield for the show on Friday and then cracked the window to enjoy the show night 2 as well. Because so close we were also able to wonder down to murrayfield in 5 mins to soak up more of the atmosphere on night 2!! Super close to city centre as well, half hour walk to the shops on Saturday afternoon. Also lovely breakfast with good choices and beautifully cooked omelette. We’ll definitely be back next time we’re staying in Edinburgh. So pleased to have this wee gem of a place! Highly recommend!

Response

Dear Abby,Thank you for your wonderful feedback.We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the concert and your stay with us!Our team worked very hard to ensure you had an enjoyable stay and your lovely words mean the world to us.We hope to welcome you back in the future!Kind regards,All staff and management

Reviewer: Abby S | Sun 9th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Highly recommend! - Rating 5/5

My room was very nice, tall ceilings and just enough space. The staff was very nice and helpful throughout my stay. great proximity to other things in town also

Reviewer: Taren | Fri 7th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Lovely hotel- Rating 4/5

Location of the hotel is great. Bus stop right outside gets you to Edinburgh centre in 10 minutes, otherwise a lovely 30 minutes walk. Rooms clean and spacious. Staff absolutely excellent, cannot fault, so helpful and accommodating, we got a ground floor room as requested which was great. Breakfast fair, ( traditional) but plenty of choice for buffet. Coffee a bit slow being filled up so had tea. All in all great short stopover hotel.

Reviewer: Christine H | Tue 4th Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

It was a very cozy and fantastic stay , receptionist was very helpful!

Reviewer: Keshur | Sun 2nd Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Good location - Rating 4/5

A good location and clean

Reviewer: Polina | Sun 2nd Jun 2024 | 1 month ago


Clean , comfortable, friendly staff- Rating 4/5

Room was clean, beds were comfortable, perfect for our needs. Nothing fancy but affordable. Staff was very helpful in figuring out the bus system.

Reviewer: Becky | Tue 28th May 2024 | 1 month ago


Very comfortable- Rating 4/5

Thanks a lot, we enjoyed our stay. Everything was nice and comfortable and we especially appreciated that you turned the heating on when we came back soaking wet from a trip into town.

Reviewer: Kristina| Mon 27th May 2024 | 1 month ago


Hotel sensacional- Rating 5/5

Adoramos o Hotel,o quarto que ficamos era confortável, de ótimo tamanho, com frigobar e um banheiro moderno, com um chuveiro quente maravilhoso, toda a equipe foi muito cordial e prestativa, nos auxiliando a todo momento quanto a indicações para alimentação e demais dúvidas, um ponto que sem dúvida foi fantástico foi a facilidade de transporte para o aeroporto, há um ônibus de linha número 100 , que sai do aeroporto e tem uma parada na porta do Hotel, coisa de 10 metros, e outra parada do outro lado da rua , que leva de volta ao aeroporto, isso ajudou muito, com certeza voltarei a ficar no hotel.

Reviewer: João| Fri 24th May 2024 | 1 month ago